Rocky Mountain Information Network

RMIN Overview

RMIN Purpose/Mission

John Vinson
RMIN Executive Director

Robert C. Halliday, Director
RMIN Executive Policy Board

RMIN Overview

In 1983, Congress established the Regional Information Sharing Systems, now known as RISS.

The Rocky Mountain Information Network or RMIN (pronounced "rim-in"), is one of the six regional centers that make up RISS.  Each Center links agencies from neighboring states into a regional network that, in turn, interacts with other centers.  In short, RMIN and the other centers are regional networks within a national network.

The other RISS centers are:

  • Middle Atlantic-Great Lakes Organized Crime Law Enforcement Network
  • Mid-States Organized Crime Information Center
  • New England State Police Information Network
  • Regional Organized Crime Information Center
  • Western States Information Network

Established by an act of Congress in 1983, the RISS Centers are part of the United States Department of Justice. They are funded through the Bureau of Justice Assistance, operate under 28 CFR Part 23 guidelines and serve more than 5,000 member agencies.

Headquartered in Phoenix, Arizona, RMIN serves more than 13,000 members in over 1,000 agencies in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and Canada. 

Top of Page


The purpose of RMIN is to facilitate information sharing within the law enforcement community and assist member agencies in combating  multi-jurisdictional criminal activities and conspiracies that pose a threat to public safety.


As part of the RISS program, RMIN, Inc. will provide timely, high quality criminal intelligence and officer safety services to combat crime and terrorism through information sharing with state, local, tribal and federal law enforcement and other criminal justice entities.

(Ref. RMIN Bylaws, Article III, dated December 11, 2013) Top of Page

RMIN Home Page